Support CMF | Click Here to Contribute

Facebook Twitter
Issues and Voices that Matter August 19, 2010

Seminole School Board Candidates – District #5

Seminole County School Board candidates, district 5 (Chalk board - Ilco; photos & graphic - CMF Public Media)

Voting Smart features excerpted answers to questions recently asked at a public forum of the three candidates running for election as school board members in District 5 of Seminole County, Florida. Those candidates are Tina Calderone, Becky Erwin and Jeanne Morris – the incumbent. If one of these 3 candidates receives 50% plus 1 vote, that candidate will be elected in the August 24 primary with no need to go forward to the November general election. However, if none receive more than 50% plus 1, there will be a November 2 runoff between the top 2 vote-getters in this race. Two other candidates running for district # 2 are featured in a separate Voting Smart segment now on line. The event was recorded Wednesday evening, July 28, 2010 at Crooms Academy of Information Technology, a magnet high school in Sanford, Florida. Feature length – 33:22

(Produced, reported and edited by Desta Horner)

In 2010, three of the five seats on the Seminole County School Board, are up for election. Only two seats are vacant as the incumbent in the 3rd seat — Diane Bauer, had no candidate opposition by qualifying deadline and will therefore automatically be seated for another term. The two remaining seats are for District # 2 and # 5. District seats are elected county wide and are non-partisan.

If you are a typical time-starved but interested voter, this feature is produced just for you. It’s a 27-minute version of a much longer voter forum. That 90-minute forum is presented on CMF’s Heard in Central Florida page. It features the candidates from both districts at the same time in an extended Q and A session where their answers are all taken together in one setting.

Since the credentials of these candidates in district 5 – Calderone, Erwin and Morris — have no bearing on your vote for the candidates in the other district, this feature presents Calderone, Erwin and Morris as a one district-standalone…just like they are grouped on the ballot which asks you to vote for one over the other two.

The excerpts are from a voter forum sponsored by The League of Women Voters of Seminole County and the Seminole County Council of Parent/Teachers. In keeping with our agreement with the League — we present their forums in a gavel-to-gavel style on the Heard in Central Florida page. Yet, in this Voting Smart feature we slim down the forum without harming the essential content, while preserving the unedited characteristic of the 90-minute presentation.

In addition to an opening statement from each, the candidates are asked to respond to 8 questions which hit on such subjects as teacher salaries, performance based pay, the proposed half-cent sales tax, and budget challenges. Candidates Calderone, Erwin and Morris are also asked to address questions related to their vision for the school district, the use or not of federal stimulus funds flowing to the district, the class size amendment and why each thought they’d be a better choice than their opponent. Those questions are posed by event moderator Wayne Weinberg, president of Leadership Seminole and Envision Seminole.

Below, we provide links to other programs on our site which feature races involving candidates for Casselberry City Commission, Seminole County seats in the Florida House of Representatives, and district and county judges. Additional programs feature discussion and debates regarding the impact – pro and con — on proposed Constitutional amendments as are features regarding the state of municipal leadership, the role of the Seminole County Election Supervisor, highlight of local issues facing voters and candidates, women in politics, and various assessments — from the point of view of local legislators and political pundits — of results from the March-April 2010 state legislative session.

Now in production are features regarding the candidates in the race for Winter Springs and Oviedo for City Council and mayor seats

Principal Participants

Candidate contact information provided by the candidate to the Seminole County Supervisor of Elections or from candidate promotion material.

Tina Calderone, district #5 (Photo - CMF Public Media)
Tina Calderone
District #5

P.O. Box 953491
Lake Mary, Florida 32795-3491
email | website

Becky Erwin, district #5 (Photo - CMF Public Media)
Becky Erwin
District #5

P.O. Box 952855
Lake Mary, Florida 32795
email | website

Jeanne Morris, candidate, district # 5 (Photo - CMF Public Media)
Jeanne Morris
District #5

1921 Wingfield Drive
Longwood, Florida 32779
email | website

Wayne Weinberg, Moderator
Wayne Weinberg
forum moderator

President – Leadership Seminole and Envision Seminole

Links to other features produced by CMF Public Media featuring local candidates, races, interviews, forums and commentary

Additional Useful Links

Leave a Reply

Designed by KMDG | Kammel + Morgan Design Group Powered by Wordpress Protected by Akismet